LOVE: A MULTIVERSE OF MADNESS

It has been five weekends that you have been spending time with me. Basically, you have been the plot twist for my 2022. That is if plot twist exist in the beginning of the story. But I guess our story has never been conventional. It has never followed the usual pattern of a romantic story.  

But here we are and it got me thinking, what if the universe is just playing on us? What if this is just a grand scheme and we are the unlucky ones who got picked to play our parts.  What if this is just a prank? A very elaborate prank to make us believe that love does happen to people like us.

What if?

That is such a powerful phrase. One that can lead to greatness if exercise properly. It can open doors to ingenuity. But it can also unlock madness. And for an over thinker like I think it is the latter.

What if each day that we have spent together is just an alternate scenario of how it could have been? What if we are just trying to replay that serendipitous moment that we met? And despite that we have known and seen each other for the longest time. Not one of us is making any progress. We are in a constant time loop of trying to make this work when we have already have failed on this once.

What if this is all just a lie? Not a lie to each other but to ourselves because we desperately want love to happen. All the promises, the “I love you” and the future plans are nothing but just words with no real meaning behind them.

What if we are just lonely and sad? And everybody knows that everyone becomes desperate when that happens. So lonely and sad that we cling to an idea/belief, a memory, a person or even a combination of all that. No matter how fleeting or how brittle it may all be.

But what if this is what love really is? What if this is how it is supposed to be when you are in love with somebody? What if love is neither the ending nor the beginning rather is the in between. The gritty details. The messy process. The constant struggle. And the unwinnable arguments.

Maybe love is just really one day for the rest of our lives. The everyday you spend time together, whether physical or not. Deciding to stay and fighting against all adversaries. Maybe love is about making alternate realities of how your love should be. The decision that for today and forever this is where you want to exist.

It has been five weekends that you have been spending time with me. Basically, you have been the plot twist for my 2022. That is if plot twist exits in the beginning of the story. But I guess our story has never been conventional. It has never followed the usual pattern of a romantic story. I don’t even know anymore when the beginning was and I definitely don’t know where this would end.

With all the what-if’s and amidst all this madness there is one thing I am sure of. I am happy. I am trying to be better. We both are. And if that is not an enough reason to stay then I don’t what is.

Whatever this is. Wherever this journey takes us. I am going to enjoy all these experiences with you. So when we do encounter an off day. When the things don’t go out as plan. Don’t think of it as the end, but know that we will have more days to create better memories. Because with all the possibilities of the universe, we happened. Our paths collide and our fate intertwined. And even if this doesn’t make sense. When everyone is in disbelieve that we have come home together. Rest assured that I will stay. With my hand holding yours. With my arms wrap around you. With my lips tightly pressed on your lips. I will still choose you. I will still whisper the words “I love you”.

So let’s rewrite our story.

Let’s control our narrative.  

One day at a time. For the rest of our lives.

Leave a comment